Skip to main content

Election results point to shakeup on school board


While the country waited Wednesday morning for the results of the presidential election, a close race between President Donald Trump and former Vice President Joe Biden, local and state races were also still up in the air with election officials working to count ballots and come up with a final tally.

The Tecumseh Public Schools Board of Education will have some new members in January, as Greg Lewis procured 4,219 votes and Anthony R. Rebottaro received 4,272 votes. Current vice president Becky Brooks will retain her position on the board, with 3,111 votes. Challenger Lynne Davis fell short with 2,969 votes and current board president Kevin Johnson received 2,256 votes to oust him from his seat on the board.

According to unofficial election results from, with just 64% of the Michigan precincts reporting, U.S. Senator Gary Peters (D) was trailing challenger John James (R), who had 27,362 votes to Peters’ 15,025. In the race for 7th District U.S. Representative, Republican Tim Walberg held onto a 27,785 lead over challenger Gretchen Driskell’s (D) 15,454 votes to retain his seat.

With 33 of 40 precincts reporting, Will Garcia (D) was trailing Representative Bronna Kahle, who had 27,212 votes to Garcia’s 11,923 in the race for the state legislature’s 57th District.
Lenawee County Drain Commissioner Jenny Escott (R) held on to her position, with 26,576 votes to challenger Scott Jay Smith (D), who had 14,255 with almost 84% of the precincts’ votes counted.

With only one precinct left to count, a close race between Democrat Bill Swift, with 2,177 votes, and Republican David Stimpson, with 2,889 votes, would determine if Stimpson would continue as Lenawee County Commissioner in the 1st District.

Republican Basil Greenleaf retained his seat as Clinton Township supervisor over Austin W. Pratt. With 100% of the votes counted, Greenleaf received 1,347 votes to Pratt’s 504. The Clinton Community Schools Operating Millage Proposal passed with 1,905 yes votes and 624 no votes.

Tom Hawkins was confirmed as Raisin Charter Township supervisor, with no challengers on the ballot. Outgoing supervisor Dale Witt ran as the only write-in candidate for the township’s treasurer seat and a total of 239 write-in votes were cast, but the Lenawee County Clerk’s office would not confirm the outcome of that race until the Board of Canvassers finished their counts on November 5. The four seat-battle for township trustees, resulted in Debra Brousseau (2,875 votes), Kerry Hamilton Smith (2,826 votes), Cheryl Witt (2,815 votes) and Jim Manley (1,719 votes) chosen, while James H. Palmer trailed with 1,356 votes. The Raisin Charter Township Road Millage Proposal was turned down, with residents voting against it 2,265 to 1,853.

Mayor Jack Baker had no challengers and will continue leading the City of Tecumseh. City Council members Stephanie Harmon and Ronald Wimple were retained, and newcomer Brian Radant grabbed the trustee position vacated by Gary Fox, who chose not to run for reelection.

With only 64.29% of precincts reported, State 20-1 Proposal, an amendment to allow money from oil and gas mining on state-owned lands to continue to be collected in state funds for land protection and creation and maintenance of parks, nature areas, and public recreation facilities, was passing, with 32,646 yes votes and 5,420 no votes.

State 20-2 proposal, a constitutional amendment to require a search warrant in order to access a person’s electronic data or electronic communications, also passed with 34,549 voting yes to 4,508 voting no.

The Lenawee County Tax Limitation Proposal passed with 24,733 yes votes and 11,508 no votes. The Lenawee County Central Dispatch 911 Proposal passed as well, 26,649 to 11,139. Voters passed the Lenawee County Senior Citizen Millage Proposal with 24,198 yes votes to 13,124 no votes. The Macon Township General Tax Proposal was close at 429 saying yes and 357 voting no.

Official election results will not be released until all votes are counted and the Board of Canvassers certifies the votes.

Sign up for News Alerts

Subscribe to news updates